Royal Aust Mint | Royal Australian Mint | Australian Mint | Money making canberra | Canberra Mint

Royal Australian Mint

The Royal Australian Mint is a prescribed agency within the Commonwealth Government portfolio of the Treasury and is the sole supplier of Australia's circulating coinage.

The establishment of the Royal Australian Mint at its final site in Canberra followed propositions to place it near to the present National Library and on Camp Hill, between the Old Parliament House and Capital Hill. The Commonwealth Government approved the construction of the Mint in 1962 and construction commenced in 1963 on a site in the Canberra suburb of Deakin.

His Royal Highness, Prince Philip, opened the Royal Australian Mint on 22 February 1965.

The first task of the Mint was to produce new coins for the introduction of decimal currency on 14 February 1966. Since then it has produced more than fourteen billion circulating coins. It now has capacity to produce two million coins per day.

Admission & Opening Hours

Mon to Fri - 9am - 4pm (Coin Production Hours) Sat, Sun & Public Holidays - 10am - 4pm (Closed Christmas day & Good Friday)

Free for everyone

Denison St, Deakin, Canberra