North QLD Cowboys

3 Mar - 24 Aug, 2018

The North Queensland Cowboys are an Australian professional rugby league football club based in Townsville, the largest city in North Queensland. They compete in Australasia’s only rugby league competition, the National Rugby League (NRL) premiership. Since their foundation in 1995, the club has appeared in two grand finals (2005 & 2015), winning in 2015, and has reached the finals eight times. The team’s management headquarters and home ground, the Willows Sports Complex, currently known as 1300SMILES Stadium due to sponsorship rights, are located in the Townsville suburb of Kirwan.

The Cowboys were admitted to the premiership for the 1995 ARL season. They played in the breakaway Super League competition in 1997 before continuing to compete in the re-unified National Rugby League competition the following year. After running into financial trouble in 2001, the club was taken over by News Limited. In 2007, the team was sold by News Limited to the Cowboys League Club.

In 2015, the Cowboys played in the first all-Queensland grand final, defeating the Brisbane Broncos 17-16 in golden point to win their first premiership.

Home Games:

  • Cowboys Vs Warriors, Friday 15th June 2018
  • Cowboys Vs Dragons, Saturday 21st July 2018
  • Cowboys Vs Knights, Friday 27th July 2018
  • Cowboys Vs Broncos, Thursday 9th August 2018
  • Cowboys Vs Eels, Friday 24th August 2018
North QLD Cowboys

Stay at Rydges Townsville