Rydges Darwin Central
WWII Oil Storage Tunnels
Following the bombing of Darwin on 19th February 1942, which destroyed the fuel oil storage tanks at Stokes Hill, engineers started work on tunnels that would keep oil safe from aerial bombardment.
Made by the Civil Construction Corps, the tunnels were never completed and work on the tunnels ended with the war.
The tunnels reopened in 1992 to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the Bombing of Darwin, and are now hosting permanent exhibitions showcasing the sweat, blood and tears that went into their construction, along with other WWII memorabilia.
The tunnels are open 7 days a week (closed from 7 – 25th December).